Computer Area Decor

I posted my computer area makeover a few weeks ago for a Battling Chaos post and I’m finally getting around to posting some of the decorations I did. I cleaned up all of the binders, papers, file folders that had NOTHING in them, and trashed some of my old computer games. I love the new look and can’t wait to transform the the rest of my living room.

IMG_20150508_172605

BEFORE

IMG_20150525_151618

AFTER

I did a few minor upgrades which I’ll cover in a couple Wednesday Project posts.

  1. Beauty and the Beast picture
  2. Small Perfect sign
  3. Desk recolor
  4. Shelf recolor
  5. Cork board decoration
  6. Blue box for outgoing mail and things to file

 

Beauty and the Beast Picture

image

This was a fun project. My all time favorite Disney princess movie is Beauty and the Beast. Since the living room is where I keep the majority of my books, I thought it would be appropriate. I wanted something simple to do but still creative. I found a frame from TJ Maxx on clearance for $5 and painted it gold. It had a few scratches but I planned on painting it, so who cares? The little plate below was silver but to stick with the theme, I decided to paint it gold.

image

While that dried I came up with an idea for the picture. Originally I was going to paint Beauty and the Beasts silhouettes on a dark blue background. I didn’t want paint anymore so I printed off random pages of the story from different sources online. Some of the pages are in French and some in English but all tell the tale of Beauty and the Beast. Next I took those pages and aged them in the oven with coffee and coffee grounds. I found a blog post on how to age paper over at Confessions of a Plate Addict. I followed her instruction except I did not use foil under my paper and I added coffee grounds to make some age spots stick out.

After the pages were aged I used mod podge to glue the pages together. Working from the back to the front like you would normally glue paper. I left the top clean and clear of mod podge so I could add the silhouette. I ended up drawing the silhouette on with charcoal. Then I used a spray to set the charcoal so it doesn’t flake off. Put it all together and I now have this super cute Beauty and the Beast picture!

Small I’m not Perfect sign

image

image

image

I got this sign from a friend for Christmas and I love it. Originally it was a light blue and I wanted it to be just a little darker. I didn’t want to paint it so I went to Lowe’s and found Cabot interior wood stain in the blue I was looking for. I sanded the edges of the sign and lightly sanded the front. I added about 3 coats of the stain and then 1 coat of Minwax Polycrylic Protective Finish. It turned out pretty good and while the front is a little difficult to read, it’s still readable. All in all a good first time experience with staining wood!

Tiffany – The Tangled Taurus

2 thoughts on “Computer Area Decor

Leave a Reply

