Open When Letters

image

OPEN WHEN…You miss home – INSIDE : 1. Put on rain boots 2. Pay too much for a chai 3. Find traffic and sit in it. ENJOY!

I’m sure you have heard about Open When letters. If you have not, they are a great low cost going away gift for friends or family members. I found a few pictures on Pinterest about them and thought it would be a great idea for one of my book club friends, S, who is moving away.

image

OPEN WHEN…When you need a vacation – INSIDE : Hop into a dirigible, but don’t forget the chicken.

I’ve been trying to think of a great going away gift for her. She has been with the group for about 3 years and we are sad to see her leave. She’s changing professions and moving to an island so we are not THAT sad for her but I wanted a way to show her we will miss her. We are really going to miss her, she is constantly upbeat and wonderful.

image

OPEN WHEN….It’s the first day at your new job – INSIDE: At least you aren’t the Dark Arts teacher, they never last the year…You’ll be great! Have Fun!

I came up with a few ideas for the envelopes and inside but wanted the whole book club to participate. I wanted it to be a group effort and I’m glad I did because I got some great cards out of the group. On Friday during book discussions I handed out note cards, envelopes, and pens. S had to miss the meeting so it was the perfect opportunity to complete this project. We wanted the cards to reflect some of the books we had read and you’ll see examples from Harry Potter (JK Rowling), Finishing School (Gail Carriger), Cat and Bones Night Huntress (Jeaniene Frost), Anita Blake (Laurell K. Hamilton), Kate Daniels (Ilona Andrews), Mercy Thompson (Patricia Briggs), October Daye (Seanan McGuire), and Chicagoland Vampires (Chloe Neill). Here are some of the ones we came up with, from our book club to her when she moves away.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

S absolutely loved the open when letters and even cried.

Tiffany – The Tangled Taurus

Now that I’m starting to post my Minimalism changes I’ve added a new page under Projects! Check it out.

Leave a Reply

