*Spoilers* Bound by Flames Review

Bound by Flames by Jeaniene Frost

22500564

  • Genre : Paranormal – Supernatural – Urban Fantasy – Romance
  • Date Started :  February 22, 2015
  • Date Finished : March 5, 2015

Description: You can read the full description from Jeaniene Frost’s website.

This is the third book in the Night Prince series about Vlad aka Dracula from the Night Huntress universe. Bound by Flames was supposed to be the conclusion to Vlad and Leila’s story but it looks like there will be 1 more. So short description, Bound by Flames is about the final battle between Vlad and his most hated enemy, Szilagyi, but we get a surprise new enemy at the end. Also, Leila gets captured again, Vlad is betrayed, people and places are destroyed by fire and yes, the bad guy dies. I’m still struggling with my rating on this book, even after rating it I’m like, but maybe it should be this instead. A part of me enjoyed the dialog and the characters but the other part was so bored with the story, it’s hard to give it a rating.

This book starts off with Vlad and Leila attempting to find the traitor in his line. Someone has been giving information to his most hated enemy and we all know Vlad is the wrong man to cross. It’s sad to say this but I don’t remember much of what happened during this book, it’s not at all memorable. Normally a book like this and from this author should have taken a day or two to read, but I was so bored. The most enjoyable part in this book was probably the last quarter of it and the dialog, Frost writes some great dialog. I loved Vlad in the Cat and Bones series but for some reason, his and Leila’s story doesn’t interest me as much.

I’d like to think Leila is the reason I don’t like this series as much but I think it’s the relationship as a whole I don’t like and the villain. At least most villains have a good reason to want to kill the hero but Szilagyi’s is pretty lame. Even the new villain’s reason, Vlad not loving him as a son, is a lame excuse to cause thousands of years of trouble and trying to destroy the guy. Besides the villains, Leila seems boring to me, although she does have her moments. A big annoyance in this book was the internal dialog Leila had with herself. I get that growing up she had a crappy life and has low self-esteem but a vampire like Vlad isn’t going to love you the way he does if he doesn’t think you are worthy. It just grated on my nerves. Another thing, I’d rather be reading this story from Vlad’s point not Leila’s. One of the best parts in this book though was when Vlad revealed one of his deepest secrets to her…he started the Dracula story.

Overall, I was disappointed in this book but I have hope that Vlad and Leila’s relationship will continue to grow and evolve in the next book. I am interested to see what happens in the last book and how Frost ends this series.

Tangled Taurus Book Review Rating 2.5 Stars

3 thoughts on “*Spoilers* Bound by Flames Review

  1. And now I’m not sure if I even want to try reading this book.
    It’s just that your thoughts seem to be on the same wave as mine regarding this series. I’ve read the first two books about Vlad&Leila and they just weren’t as fun, interesting and cool as the other Night Huntress universe books. I really hoped to get some chapters in Vlad’s POV, when I read the first Night Prince book, but, sadly, that didn’t happen. This series somehow just doesn’t compare to The Night Huntress series or, in my opinion, even to the stand-alones about Mencheres and Spade (loved the one with Spade ^^). Vlad&Leila just don’t get me as excited to read their story as other couples.
    But, in the end, I’ll still probably read both this book and the last one as well. Gotta know what happens and how it ends. And the books still are a nice laugh at times.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! I had such high hopes for Vlad because I loved him in the night huntress series.

      I tell people to at least try to read the books because the little things that irritate me may not bother them. And if all else fails, audio books are pretty good for story that you want to get through.

      Like

      • Yeah, especially Frost’s books in audio format, because they have an amazing narrator, at least Night Huntress books and First Drop of Crimson are narrated by the same one, and it’s spectacular. I’ve listened to some of them a couple of times. I really love all the accents and that every character has his own voice, even though it’s just one person making all of them. Oh, the narrator is Tavia Gilbert, I think. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

