The Pirate Bride Review

The Pirate Bride by Sandra Hill

  • Genre : Romance – Historical – Vikings
  • Date Started :  September 29, 2014
  • Date Finished : January 07, 2015

Description: You can read the full description from the Sandra Hill website. Let me sum it up for you. Lady pirate meets Handsome Viking due to her crew kidnapping him and his crew. He in turn kidnaps her and holds her hostage. His family comes to rescue him, her family comes to kidnap her and they all go to meet the king. True love prevails through lots of secrecy and stubbornness.

I’m not going to lie, I had high hopes for this book. I love Sandra Hill and she got me hooked on reading when I was in High School. Thork’s father’s book was the book that got me started and pulled into Viking Historical Romance genre. I had such high hopes for this book and I was extremely disappointed. I know what I’m getting into when I read a book like this. I expect things to be silly, comical, a quick read with characters that have over the top personalities and maybe a weak plot. This book was ridiculous, not very comical and the characters were too over the top. Generally a book like this will take me about a day or two to finish. Once I put this book down it took great strength to pick it up and continue. I NEEDED to finish it, to feel like I gave it a fair chance.

Neither Medana or Thork are likable characters. Medana didn’t seem like a strong enough character to lead a crew of female pirates, build a community on an island and keep all those woman safe. I respect her ability to bounce back from her horrible life and to take in all these other woman who had nowhere to go or who were in worse situations than she was but she didn’t seem to have that commanding presence. She just didn’t pull me into her love story.

Thork, oh egotistical and male chauvinist Thork, he is a gift to all woman. Estranged from his family he is ready to bite the bullet and get married. He is a caveman and not all too bright. Yes he, well his father, gets her out of a death sentence but he is so clueless. I know males in romance novels are not in touch with their feelings but the love story between Thork and Medana was far from believable.

Even in the silliest historical romance novel, I can ignore weak characters (SOMETIMES) as long as it has a strong love story, this one did not. I’m giving this book, The Pirate Bride by Sandra Hill a 1 star.

Tangled Taurus Book Review Rating 1 Star

2 thoughts on “The Pirate Bride Review

Leave a Reply

